Bringing You the Daily Dispatch

Cricket Sport

Australia secures a thrilling T20 victory over India with Glenn Maxwell’s impressive century on the final ball.

Glenn Maxwell catapulted Australia singlehanded to a miraculous last-ball win over India by five wickets in the third Twenty20 at Guwahati with a superb hundred.

Australia trailed behind for the majority of their chase against India’s challenging score of 223 at Barsapara cricket stadium on Tuesday (early Wednesday morning, Australian Eastern Daylight Time). However, Maxwell’s incredible 104 runs off 48 balls and Wade’s contribution of 28 helped narrow the gap in the five-match series to 2-1 in favor of India.

Australia had to score 21 runs in the 20th over from Prasidh Krishna, while India was limited to only four fielders within the 30-yard circle due to slow over rates. Wade hit a four and a single, followed by Maxwell’s impressive sequence of 6-4-4-4, as he ended his Indian campaign in a remarkable manner. Prior to this, Wade had also attacked Axar Patel in the 19th over when Australia needed 43 runs to win.

Australia’s World Cup final star, Travis Head, returned to the series and aggressively scored 35 runs with numerous boundaries. However, he fell victim to Avesh Khan’s slow bouncer and was caught out by Ravi Bishnoi after attempting a pull shot.

Aaron Hardie and Josh Inglis were dismissed quickly, while Marcus Stoinis (17) and Tim David (first-ball duck) fell victim to India’s spinners. However, Maxwell and Wade, who had previously given up 30 runs in his over of bowling, saved the day.

Ruturaj Gaikwad’s explosive unbeaten 123 combined with a poor performance from Australia’s second-string bowlers had the tourists under the pump at the halfway stage. Gaikwad became the first Indian to score a T20 ton against Australia and his score was the second highest by an Indian in the format, behind Shubman Gill’s 126no against New Zealand in February.

The quartet of Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, and Adam Zampa, who were part of the World Cup-winning Australian team, were given a break. As a result, the next-in-line attack was once again not able to perform well, except for Jason Behrendorff who managed to take 1 wicket for 15 runs in his four overs. He also bowled a rare maiden to Suryakumar Yadav.

Kane Richardson and Hardie were inaccurate and leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha far too short. Hardie (1-64) equalled AJ Tye’s unwanted record for the most runs conceded by an Australian in T20Is.

Bypass the newsletter advertisement.

Maxwell, who made an impressive century during the World Cup against Afghanistan, will return home feeling victorious. He will be joined by Inglis, Stoinis, Steve Smith, Adam Zampa, and Sean Abbott on their flight back. Head is the sole remaining member of the World Cup team for the last two games of the tour, with Ben McDermott, Chris Green, Josh Philippe, and Ben Dwarshuis joining a smaller 13-man squad.

The fourth game will take place in Raipur on Saturday (Sunday morning AEDT).

Source: theguardian.com