Bringing You the Daily Dispatch

Australian cyclists honor Melissa Hoskins at the national championships.
Cycling Sport

Australian cyclists honor Melissa Hoskins at the national championships.

The passing of Melissa Hoskins has devastated the Australian cycling community, with prominent riders Grace Brown and Brodie Chapman expressing their sorrow over the heartbreaking event.

There will be a moment of silence on Sunday morning before the beginning of the women’s elite road race at the Australian championships.

On Thursday, Brown emerged as the winner of the time trial at the national road championships, with Chapman coming in second. This marked the first elite cycling competition in Australia since Hoskins passed away over the weekend.

After winning her fourth national time trial championship, Brown expressed, “This week has been quite gloomy.”

“The cycling world is having difficulty understanding it, honestly.”

In my opinion, I am extremely saddened for Mel and her family. My thoughts are with them during this difficult time. This event has cast a dark cloud over the cycling season.

Chapman and Brown both concurred on the importance of honoring Hoskins on Sunday, stating that it is absolutely essential.

Chapman expressed deep sorrow for Mel’s family, stating that the situation is a terrible tragedy.

Rohan Dennis, an Olympic medallist and former cycling world time trial champion, is facing charges in Adelaide related to the death of Hoskins, his wife.

Hoskins competed in the Olympics twice for track events and was also part of the team that achieved victory in the 2015 team pursuit world championship.

Ignore the promotional newsletter.

Despite a lower back injury, Brown was able to triumph in the elite women’s time trial, completing the 28.6km race in 40 minutes and 51.30 seconds.

Chapman demonstrated progress in the sport by finishing just 6.89 seconds behind Brown, earning the silver medal. Georgie Howe finished in third place, more than 30 seconds behind.

Luke Plapp won the 37.5km men’s race with a time of 46:19.54, securing a quadrella victory for the Australian team Jayco-Alula.

Chris Harper, a member of the team, finished in second place, more than 30 seconds after the first place finisher. Behind him was team veteran Michael Hepburn, and Kelland O’Brien came in fourth.

Source: theguardian.com