Bringing You the Daily Dispatch

Australia, who have not made any changes, are aiming to bounce back in an uncommon trans-Tasman Test match.
Cricket Sport

Australia, who have not made any changes, are aiming to bounce back in an uncommon trans-Tasman Test match.

The Australian summer of cricket rarely features games outside of Australia. However, the exciting prospect of the first Test tour to New Zealand in eight years, with the Black Caps performing well, has generated much excitement on both sides of the Tasman.

The match features the current World Test Championship title holders, Australia, going up against the first ever champions, New Zealand.

It is unfortunate that there are only two Test matches between the two teams, starting at Wellington’s Basin Reserve on Thursday and ending in Christchurch next week.

Pat Cummins is one of several to have never played a Test in New Zealand, relying on advice from Australia’s bowling coach – the great Kiwi spinner Daniel Vettori. “He’s always got good insights. He’s played a lot here,” Cummins said.

The captain of the team undergoing testing, determined to recover from a surprising loss against West Indies in Australia’s previous match, declared that Australia would use the identical eleven players for the upcoming Test.

“Consistency is key and it’s always beneficial to have a complete selection to choose from,” stated Cummins. “There is a peaceful atmosphere within the team. Each player has enough experience in Test cricket, so there is no need to constantly make drastic changes.”

On the other hand, the team’s players are experiencing some instability due to injuries and their recent performance. Unfortunately, Devon Conway will not be able to participate in the upcoming test due to a thumb injury he sustained during the T20 series. It is uncertain if he will be able to play in the rest of the series.

He joins spearhead paceman Kyle Jamieson on the sidelines, who has a stress fracture in his back, as well as Neil Wagner. Wagner had troubled Australia, and particularly Steve Smith, on recent tours but chose to retire this week after being informed by coach Gary Stead he would not be picked.

Kiwi skipper Tim Southee confirmed on Wednesday that young quick Will O’Rourke would play, fresh from a nine-wicket haul on Test debut a fortnight earlier. Southee confirmed Will Young would replace Conway, with the final selection – seam v spin battle between Scott Kuggeleijn and Mitchell Santner – to be decided before the toss.

The final choice will depend on the playing field, which neither team could practice on because of incessant rain in the city on Wednesday.

Although the pitches in New Zealand are typically more grassy compared to other Test-playing countries, the Basin had an exceptionally green wicket in its last appearance on Tuesday.

Cummins mentioned that if he wins the toss, he would consider bowling as a viable option.

According to the speaker, seeing a green cricket pitch on TV is uncommon in Australia, but it is a common sight in the current location. They do not believe that the appearance of the pitch is as intimidating as it may seem, as there have been many high scores achieved in the first innings.

In recent meetings, Australia has been dominant against the Black Caps, with the exception of their 2011 triumph in Hobart, their only test victory in the past 31 years. Nathan Lyon, who participated in that match, also acknowledged seeking guidance from Vettori.

“He has provided us with excellent insights into the mindset of New Zealand batters, which is remarkable,” the speaker expressed about the spinner. “As a fellow spinner, he has been extremely beneficial to my career since joining us in the past few years.”

Having a prestigious Kiwi figure in our locker room revealing all the secrets is truly incredible.

Revised: The Australian team includes players such as Steve Smith, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey, Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins, Nathan Lyon, and Josh Hazlewood.

The New Zealand team lineup includes Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell, Glenn Phillips, Matt Henry, Mitch Santner/Scott Kuggeleijn, Tim Southee, and Will O’Rourke.

Source: theguardian.com